Bio

James Risk

I am originally from Indianapolis, Indiana. I graduated high school in 1988 and immediately joined the ranks of the workforce. At the age of 33, I returned to school to earn my BA in History. I chose History because of my genuine love for the subject, which I seem to have inherited from my grandfather. I knew almost immediately that I would continue my education in graduate school. I wanted to teach and share my love of history with others. While completing my MA in Historical Studies, I was encouraged to pursue the History of Science and Technology as my major field. I also discovered the field of Public History. When I arrived at the University of South Carolina for my Ph.D. in History, my interest in the History of Science and Technology and Public History led me to consider Environmental History as a third field of study.

Outside of my academic pursuits, I enjoy spending time with my wife, Lori, and my son, James. I have been married for 12 years.  My son will turn seven years old this fall. Together we enjoy traveling and spending time with our extended families and close friends. Our travels usually revolve around the beach, historic sites, national parks, and visiting lighthouses. My hobbies include writing poetry, food & wine, antiques, and amateur photography.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s